Skip To Main Content

Social Studies 7

Ms. Reuter's Native American History Project

General Information

Arctic/Subarctic: Arctic and Subarctic tribes include those living along the Arctic sea, from Siberia, across Alaska and Canada, all the way to Greenland. 

Northwest Coast: Pacific Northwest tribes include those living in what is now Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, and Alaska.

Great Basin: The Great Basin is centered in what is now Nevada and includes neighboring areas of California, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, and Arizona. 

Southwest: This region is based in what is now Arizona and New Mexico, but also includes neighboring parts of Colorado, Nevada, Utah, and Texas as well as parts of the Mexican states of Sonora and Chihuahua.

Great Plains: The Plains tribes occupied a vast area of central North America, including what is now Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Illinois, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin, Kansas, Nebraska, the Dakotas, and parts of Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas.

Northeast: The northern portion of what is known more broadly as the Eastern Woodlands; these tribes lived in what is now New England and the Great Lakes region.

Southeast: This is the Southern portion of the Eastern Woodlands region that surrounds the Gulf of Mexico.